St.Michael’s Boys NS Trim win Leinster Title of Aviva Health FAI Schools 5 -a-side‏‏

Aviva Health FAI Primary School 5's - Leinster Finals
There was great excitement at the MDL grounds in Navan when St.Michael’s Boys National School in Trim were crowned Leinster Champions in The Aviva Health FAI  Primary Schools 5 -a-side. The Trim school,managed by Eoin Joyce  won all three games in the Section C for large schools ,firstly against Wexford team Kennedy Park by 4-1,then against St.Joseph’s Kilcock(Kildare) again by 4-1 and finally beating Dublin Champions,Holy Child Larkhill by 5-0 with a huge local support adding greatly to the electric atmosphere on the day.
St. Michael’s now advance to the All-Ireland Finals to be played at the Aviva Stadium for the very first time on Sat 25th May.Trim will be hoping to emulate the success of Athboy NS who won National honours last year and the St.Michael’s team from 1996 which also won the All-Ireland and included current Hibernian player,Timmy Clancy.
Such is the talent in the St.Michael’s team that  several of the squad have already attracted cross-channel interest with players due to go on trial this month with Dundee Utd ! Keeper Conor Hallinan was outstanding in each one of the three games but particularly in the first two,when he pulled off several crucial saves against Kennedy Park  and also against St.Joseph’s Kilcock. Top goalscorers on the day were strikers Oisín Devlin, Aaron Lynch & Cian Lee who showed telepathic understanding at times with Devlin being described by many as player of the tourament on the day! Midfielder Luke Walsh Byrne was another to impress as he provided most of the assists on the day while defenders Paraic Costello and Luke Mahon were solid throughout and thwarted the skillful Kilcock side at crucial times in the second game. Dylan Farrell was an excellent impact sub as he was outstanding in all three games.
The Leinster Cup was presented by Aviva Health,Executive Sales Director,Alan Kavanagh from Navan,and by Ireland U-19 central midfielder,Kealan Dillon an ex-Athboy Community School player
ST.MICHAEL’S TRIM .1.Conor Hallinan 2.Paraic Costello 3.Luke Mahon 4.Luke Walsh Byrne 5. Oisín Devlin 6.Aaron Lynch7. Cian Lee 8.Dylan Farrell

Leave a Reply