Girls from Kentstown NS and Dunboyne SNS win Meath titles

Spar FAI 5s Competition Meath Schools Finals


Clinical Kentstown girls capture second Meath title

                              WINNERS Kentstown NS   RUNNERS UP Stackallen NS

Kentstown Girls, managed by Ann Currane, were worthy winners of Section A for small/medium sized schools when they captured their second Meath title in style . In the qualifiers the girls kept the opposition scoreless in each one of their four games with goalkeeper, Sarah McCarthy, in inspired form and Kentstown scoring a whopping 21 goals in the process!

Twin sisters Aoibhe and Caragh Monaghan were magnificent throughout the tournament and Orla Finnegan and the hugely talented Aisha Ogunyemi in midfield were also key in this memorable triumph. Aisha’s speed and powerful shots from distance proved to be decisive as Kentstown beat Moynalvey 4-0, Baile Ghib 7-0 , Skryne 5-0 and Cortown 5-0 in the qualifiers and Kilmessan again by 5-0 in the play-offs. Clodagh McCormack and Sophie

Lynch up front had a telepathic understanding for much of the time as they notched up many of the goals together. The finals saw the same level of consistency in wins overRathmore (3-0) Kilcloon 3-0 and Runners-Up Stackallen by 3-1. Yet another Meath school with a superb chance of advancing in the North Leinster finals on the 22nd April.

 KENTSTOWN 1. Orla Finnegan 2.Clodagh McCormack 3.Aoibhe Monaghan 4. Caragh Monaghan 5. Aisha Ogunyemi 6.Sarah McCarthy 7.Sophie Lynch

STACKALLEN 1. Michaela Gouagar 2. Heather McKinnion 3. Amy Timmons. 4. Zoe Matthews 5. Aoibheann Hunter 6. Jennifer Carolan. 7. Alice Duddy

Stackallen girls, managed by Anthony McDonagh, had topped their qualifying group in convincing fashion, by winning all 4 games against Dangan(4-2), Boardsmill(6-1), Kilbride (6-1) and Nobber(5-1). Amy Timmons ,Jennifer Carolan and Heather McKinnion were superb in the earlier games while Alice Duddy, Zoe Matthews, Aoibheann Hunter and Michaela Gouagar each played a crucial role in the latter stages, including a pulsating 2-1 win over Castletown KP in the play-off game.

Qualifiers 9/3/15

10:00 Baile Ghib 1 4 Cortown

10:20 Kentstown 4 0 Moynalvey

10:40 Baile Ghib 1 9 Skryne

11:00 Cortown 3 3 Moynalvey

11:20 Kentstown 7 0 Baile Ghib

11:40 Cortown 1 2 Skryne

12:00 Skryne 0 5 Kentstown

12:20 Baile Ghib 1 7 Moynalvey

12:40 Kentstown 5 0 Cortown

13:00 Moynalvey 6 0 Skryne

Meath Finals 19/3/15

10:00 Kilcloon 3 3 Yellow Furze

10:20 Kentstown 3 0 Rathmore

10:40 Kilcloon 2 2 Stackallen

11:00 Yellow Furze 0 0 Rathmore

11:20 Kentstown 3 0 Kilcloon

11:40 Yellow Furze 2 3 Stackallen

12:00 Stackallen 1 3 Kentstown

12:20 Kilcloon 2 2 Rathmore

12:40 Kentstown 2 1 Yellow Furze

13:00 Rathmore 1 6 Stackallen

Spar FAI 5s Competition Meath Schools Finals


                               WINNERS DUNBOYNE       RUNNERS-UP ST. MARY’S TRIM

Having finishing second in the All-Ireland finals of 2012, this year’s Dunboyne team look very capable of emulating such success . Keeper Leah Sheerin has a fabulous record in the tournament and pulled off some tremendous saves. Captain Aoife Delaney and vice-captain Ciara Martin inspired their team throughout as Dunboyne maintained a 100% record in seven straight wins, scoring a massive 64 goals in two full days of competition.

Dunboyne are managed by teachers Michelle McDonnell, Donal Scanlon and Caoimhe Leavy and their team is well organised and strong in every position. Rachel Farrell was a tower of strength in defence while the skilful Emma Duggan in midfield, was one of the stars of the whole tournament , scoring some magnificent goals, many of the Stepahanie Roche calibre! Up top Niamh McMahon, Leah Troy and Honor Hickey added some superb strikes also, with Orla Dempsey stepping up to the plate when Honor Hickey got injured.

The Trim girls, managed by Eimear Murray, were superb in their qualifying rounds as they convincingly won all four games, against Ballivor by 5-2,Dunboyne E by 8-0,Kildalkey ‘A’ by 4-1 and St. Mary’s Ashbourne also by 4-1 .


10:00 Dunboyne 5 1 St. Mary’s Trim

10:30 Scoil Naomh Eoin 3 5 Donacarney

11:00 Dunboyne 12 5 Scoil Naomh Eoin

11:30 St. Mary’s Trim 5 3 Donacarney

12:00 Dunboyne 5 0 Donacarney

12:30 St. Mary’s Trim 3 3 Scoil Naomh Eoin