Double All-Ireland Delight for Meath Schools at Aviva

Meath schools Dunboyne SNS (left) and Mount Hanover NS after being crowned All-Ireland Champions at the magnificent Aviva Stadium May 2016

All-Ireland Champions Dunboyne SNS ,winners of Section C for Large Schools pictured at Aviva Stadium 11th May with left) Principal Willie Lyons and right coach Brendon KeoghMount Hanover NS All-Ireland Champions of the SPAR FAI Primary 5s at the Aviva Stadium Dublin with (left)Meath co-ordinator Paul Holland and coach Enda Ruddy


Dunboyne defeated both the Munster Champions Scoil Naomh Iosaf and the Ulster Champions St. Patrick’s BNS, Lurgybrack 5-2 with goals from Banya and Tommy Lonergan and exceptional goalkeeping displays from Eoghan McCormack. He was greatly helped by the defensive resilience shown by Dylan Vaughan and the contributions from substitutes Davan Ryan and Jack Brown.

his set up a a showdown with unbeaten Connacht champions, St. Patrick’s BNS, Galway with Dunboyne only needing a draw to take the title on goal difference.

St. Patrick’s raced into a two goal lead only for Banya to cut the deficit early in the second half with a brilliant strike from an acute angle. With Daniel Flanagan commanding at the back, Dunboyne pressed hard for an equaliser and Simon Cunningham, who had a magnificent tournament, struck a low shot from the edge of the area to make it two all with 60 seconds left.

But St. Patrick’s quick thinking was rewarded when they took a quick restart and with the Dunboyne players still celebrating, took the lead again to make it 3-2.There was still more drama to come as Dunboyne

forced a corner in the dying seconds. Banya crossed it to Lonergan who scored the equaliser and winner for Dunboyne.,leading to unbelievable scenes of joy and relief for the magnificent Dunboyne support

Dunboyne Eoghan McCormack, Simon Cunningham, Dylan Vaughan, Roland Banya, Tommy Lonergan, Daniel Flanagan, Davan Ryan, Jack Brown.


At the magnificent surroundings of The Aviva Stadium, two Meath schools created history and enjoyed a double success when Dunboyne Senior Primary School and Mount Hanover NS captured All-Ireland titles of THE SPAR FAI Primary 5s .Meath schools have a fine record in winning National trophies with St. Michael’s Trim 1996 and 2013, Rathbeggan 2005 and Athboy 2012 previously successful .

Many more Meath schools have advanced to the National Finals only to fail to do themselves justice on the day but this year two schools achieved the ultimate aim. Amazing when you realise that not one Dublin school has even reached the National deciders in the past two years! There were ecstatic celebrations afterwards as Ireland legend Jason McAteer presented trophies to the two Meath captains Roland Banya (Dunboyne)and Adam Kelly (Mount Hanover),much to the delight of the huge Meath contingent of supporters present.

Scoil Cholmcille, Mount Hanover, created history by winning the All-Ireland soccer title at, while also becoming . Cheered on by the always colourful and fanatical Mount Hanover following, the players produced a perfect display with three impressive wins!

Mount Hanover N.S 5 Croom N.S 2

The opening game against the unbeaten Munster Champions Croom N.S, episomised the skill,workrate, composure and spirit of the Mount Hanover boys. They started at lightning speed astypical of their previous games as star striker Alan Bowden netted 2 goals for the Leinster side.Croom N.S got into their stride for the remainder of the half and drew level close to half time andlooked like they would prove to be more than a match for Mount Hanover. However superdefending by Tom Bowden and excellent goalkeeping by Seán Mc Quail ensured that the teams wentin level at the break. At half time Mount Hanover regained their composure and were not going to be denied their shot at glory! Captain Adam Kelly, Conor Mc Quail

Leech and Lucas Mc Keen stepped up and dictated the tempo in the middle of the park, piling on relentless pressure, resulting in a superb 2nd half hatrick for Alan Bowden.

Mount Hanover 5 Scoil an Choimín 3

In the second game, Mount Hanover met the Challenge of Donegal and Ulster in the form of Scoil anChoimín, Lifford. Knowing the Donegal side needed a win to keep their hopes alive, Mount Hanoveragain showed their resolve and class with a deserving 5-3 victory. Alan Bowden again proved to be apotent force in front of the net with 4 brilliant finishes, combining wonderfully with playmaker Kelly.

Mount Hanover unfortunately lost excellent defender Tom Bowden through injury but the versatile Dylan Collins showed his mettle, with one of the highlights of the game a crunching tackle to stop a certain goal chance. Despite going down 4-1 midway through the 2nd half, Scoil an Choimín showed admirable spirit by pegging Mount Hanover back to 4-3 to set up a tense finale. Up stepped defender Conor McQuail Leech with one of the goals of the tournament, showing lightning pace and coolness to slot home the insurance goal, cueing ecstatic celebrations in the Aviva stand.

With other results going Mount Hanover;s way, they knew they were assured of the bringing home the silverware. This didn’t stop them aiming to keep their unblemished record intact having won all of their games in Meath, North Leinster and Leinster. The challenge of Carn N.S from Sligo and Connacht stood in their way and proved to be formidable opposition, especially their goalkeeper, who was in inspired form, pulling off some unbelievable saves to spread belief through his team.

Mount Hanover 2 Carn N.S 1

Carn N.S took the lead early on and held firm close to half time. Their brave resistance was finally broken with a cool finish from Alan Bowden. Adam Kelly got the goal his outstanding leadership and skill deserved, with the winner midway through the 2nd half, sparking joyous scenes. Dylan Collins and Taigue Donagh played really well and made sure of the win when introduced in the 2nd half.

Fittingly Mount Hanover climbed the steps to receive the cup to the spine tingling Champions League theme tune. The icing on the cake was Alan Bowden receiving the prestigious player of the tournament award his play deserved.

Manager Enda Ruddy